Consumer Title Resource | Since 2009!

How to Register a Trailer in Vermont Using the Vermont Title Loophole

Can you register a trailer in Vermont using the Vermont title loophole? Trailers can be registered in Vermont by both residents and non-residents. The Vermont title loophole is a common way for non-residents to obtain a title for a trailer that was missing the old title. Using the Vermont title loophole, you can get a title for your 15-year-old or older trailer using your bill of sale, even if you don’t have the original title.

Requirements to register a trailer in Vermont

Trailer specifications

Similar to the requirements for motor vehicles, the model of the trailer must be at least 15 years old or older to qualify for the Vermont title loophole. All parts must be installed on the trailer and must be road-ready in order to be titled. A trailer that is missing key components such as wheels cannot be titled. Additionally, the Vermont DMV does not issue titles for trailers with an empty weight of 1,500lbs or less. If your trailer has an empty weight of 1,500lbs or less, it will not qualify, even if the model year is more than 15 years old.

Bill of sale requirements

The Vermont title loophole does not have a standard bill of sale form. Your bill of sale can be typed or handwritten, as long as it contains the following information:

  • Date of purchase
  • Name of the seller
  • Seller’s signature
  • Name of the buyer
  • VIN
  • Make
  • Model
  • Year
  • Odometer statement

NADA book value

The book value of your trailer is an estimate of its current market value, which you can use to apply for the Vermont title loophole. The Vermont DMV first recommends using the NADA book value first in their statutes, but not all trailers will be featured in this book. If your trailer is not in the NADA book, you can use various other comparable to find the book value.

Sales tax and registration fee

The sales tax owed is calculated using the NADA book value of your trailer. The Vermont DMV requires that 6% sales tax be paid at the time of registration. Depending on the weight of your trailer, your registration fee will vary. For trailers with a loaded weight of 1,500lbs or less, the registration fee is $27. For trailers with a loaded weight of 1,501lbs or more, the registration fee is $52.

For more information regarding sales tax, check out our article How To Calculate Sales Tax for Vermont Title Loophole.

Registering a trailer in Vermont using the Vermont title loophole is very similar to registering a vehicle using the same method. This method is a great way to get a title for a trailer without the prior title. If you own a trailer, it’s important to get it registered. Most states require trailers to be registered if they are used on public roadways. Every state recognizes the Vermont title loophole as a valid way to get a title for a trailer. If it’s your trailer, you deserve a title.

Want a professional to do it for you?

For as little as $159 for most processes, we will save you the headache and prepare all of the car title paperwork needed to get you a new title. Simply choose the title recovery method you’d like to use and we’ll get started!

Select your title recovery method:

Order Vermont Title LoopholeOrder Deceased Owner Title TransferOrder Bonded Title ProcessOrder Abandoned Vehicle ProcessOrder Prior Owner ContactOrder Lien Release Request Letter

Have Title Questions? Talk to a Car Title Expert.

Book a consultation with a Car Title Expert from to get personalized guidance on your title recovery journey.

Don’t let uncertainty hold you back. If it’s your car, you deserve a title.

Share this article!

Check Your VIN Instantly:

Powered by